beealli

National Vegetarian Week

So…Apparently it’s National Vegetarian Week. Isn’t there a ‘National Everything’ Day/Week lately? Ah Well, I thought I’d give this one a try, that’s worth something, right? 2 of my friends have decided to go veggie within the past few weeks…how hard can it be?

Answer: Surprisingly difficult.

Here’s a list of my oh-so adventurous meals. Okay, they really aren’t that adventurous…

Day 1 – Honey hoop cereal (In fact, add this to every day. Well, I like my honey hoop cereal…), Tomato and herb pasta, pizza (yes, Margarita…). Success. Also very Italian.

Day 2 – Honey hoop cereal (Okay, I’ll skip this from now on, you get the idea…). Lunch was my first slip up – a chicken mayo sandwich. A regular meal without much thought. A chocolate bar. Southern Fried Quorn chicken burgers. Quorn chicken tastes nothing like normal chicken! Thankfully the Southern Fried part masked the taste – overall very edible and no complaints.

Day 3 – Cheese pasta. Crisps. Another slip up. Made it half way through the bag before remembering they were smoky bacon flavour. ‘They must get the bacon flavour from somewhere…oh…not suitable for vegetarians…well d’uh, that makes sense!’. Quorn chicken burgers again (Well, I had a whole pack to use…)

Day 4 – Croissant, Chocolate digestive biscuits. Almost bought fruit pastels, but er…well avoided. Falafel Wraps. Note to self: Buy yogurt or mint sauce or something cool to eat with said Falafel wraps. Lesson learned.

Day 5 – Cheese and Caramelised onion panini. Vegetable lasagne (Quorn mince tastes nice! A lot more realistic than Quorn chicken anyway…)

So yeah, that’s my Monday-Friday list of relatively boring, attempt at being creative with veggie food. Turns out I’m now heavily dependent on cheese, guess vegan-ism is definitely out of the question hm. Vegetarian is definitely do-able, It’s tempting to stick at it for longer, well after the weekend, I’m assuming these ‘National…Week things include weekends too, right?

I’ll just push my craving for Chinese Lemon Chicken or KFC out of the window for a little longer…any creative none-repetitive vegetarian recipes welcomes, I’ll give them a try 🙂

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on May 20, 2016 by in food, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .